Anne-Sophie Seidler

Französischer Vorname, deutscher Nachname, amerikanische Adresse …

Diese drei Details sagen mehr über mich als eine lange Biographie!

20 Jahre Frankreich, 20 Jahre Deutschland, seit 2017 Amerika – in diesen drei Kulturen verbringe ich meinen (Arbeits-)Alltag. Natürlich habe ich mir das Beste aus diesen drei Ländern herausgepickt: Humor und Gelassenheit aus Frankreich, die deutsche Arbeitsethik und Zuverlässigkeit und von Amerika die Geselligkeit und den Gemeinschaftssinn.

Durch meine Nähe und Affinität zu diesen drei Ländern schätzen meine Kunden die Authentizität und die kulturspezifische Genauigkeit meiner Übersetzungen. Wenn wir zusammen arbeiten, können Sie sicher sein, dass das Endprodukt perfekt an Ihre Zielkultur und Zielgruppe angepasst ist.

Mein Motto?

Die beste Übersetzung ist die, die Sie nicht bemerken

Möchten Sie mehr über mich erfahren?

Meine Karriere

  • Vordiplom in Angewandten Fremdsprachen an der Pariser Sorbonne Universität (DEUG in Langues Étrangères Appliquées) 1995-1997
  • Fünf Jahre Kultur- und Sprachwissenschaftliches Studium mit Abschluss als Diplom-Übersetzerin am Institut für Übersetzen und Dolmetschen der Universität Heidelberg und an der Universität Mainz in Germersheim, 2002
  • Freiberufliche Übersetzerin seit 2002
  • Lehrbeauftragte am Institut für Übersetzen und Dolmetschen der Universität Heidelberg, 2007-2010
  • Französischlehrerin in der Jugend- und Erwachsenenbildung bei der VHS Heidelberg, der VHS Lindau und an der Freien Schule Allgäu in Wangen, 2005-2013
  • Dreisprachige Museumführerin im Vorarlberg Museum in Bregenz, Österreich, 2012-2017
  • Umzug in die USA nach Louisville, Colorado, Juli 2017

Mein Ziel

Sprachen und Kultur zu vermitteln war immer der rote Faden – in meinem professionellen und in meinem Privatleben. Ich möchte mit meinen Übersetzungen Brücken für ein besseres Verständnis zwischen den Menschen bauen.

Möchten Sie ein Handbuch für eine Computer-Software oder eine Nähmaschine übersetzen lassen? Dann fragen Sie bitte meine Kollegen. Bei mir sind Sie richtig, wenn Sie Texte benötigen, die den Leser berühren oder Ihnen mehr Kunden bringen sollen.

Interessiert?

Anne-Sophie Seidler

French first name, German last name, American address…

These three details tell you more about me than a long biography!

I’m living my everyday life within these three cultures (I spent 20 years in France, 20 years in Germany and currently living in the US) and I’m cherry-picking the best qualities from them on my way (such as French humor and nonchalance, German work ethic and reliability, and American sociability and customer-friendly attitude). I love it!

Thanks to familiarity and affinity with those three cultures, my translations have been praised as natural and culture-appropriate, so you can expect to always get a top-notch product when we work together.

My motto?

The best translation is the one you don’t notice

Would you like to know more?

My Career

  • Two years of Translation Studies at the Sorbonne in Paris (DEUG of Langues Étrangères Appliquées) 1995-1997,
  • Five years of Translation studies and Diploma in Germany at the University of Mayence in Germersheim (Diplom-Übersetzerin) in 2002.
  • Self-employed translator since 2002,
  • Lecturer at the Institute for Translation and Interpretation of the University of Heidelberg (GER) 2007-2010,
  • French teacher for adults and children in Life-Long-Learning Classes in Heidelberg and Lindau (GER) 2005-2013,
  • Trilingual museum guide in Bregenz, Austria 2012-2017,
  • Since summer 2017, my office is situated in Louisville, Colorado (USA) and I’m enjoying the experience!

My Goal

The transmission of language and culture was always the common thread throughout my different career choices and in my life. Translating, discovering new cultures and building bridges between people for a better understanding is my primary goal.

Do you need to translate a handbook for a computer program or a sewing machine? Please ask my colleagues! I love words and I love choosing the right ones. That’s why I enjoy translating texts that are designed to improve sales or please the reader, rather than translating technical manuals.

Would you like to work with me?